Upgrade your documents to be compatible with the modern version of Scroll Documents

At the beginning of this 2020, we communicated to our customers that changes would be coming to Scroll Documents on Cloud. We've not only revamped the UI, but also changed the way documents are created and managed under the hood.

As a result, you will also need to upgrade your documents to be compatible with the new version. Here's what you need to do:

How does it affect you?

When the new version of Scroll Documents is released, you will not be able to see or interact with your existing documents and versions until you use our migration tool to convert all your documents and versions to the new format. The Documents Index in your space will look like this:

An administrator will first need to initiate the migration process. Once initiated, you will be able to view and interact with your documents using the features of the new Scroll Documents.

This migration is done for the entire instance, and only once. You do not need to do it for every space in your Confluence instance.

User Experience

Here are some of the highlights of the new version:

Documents Index

Before

After

Highlights

  • More visual easy to browse views

  • More filters available to find your documents faster

Document Viewer

Before

After

Highlights

  • Interact with your entire document in a single scrollable view

  • Navigate to the different sections in your document using an interactive Document outline

Version Comparison

Before

After

Highlights

  • Compare versions as well as copies of documents

  • Intuitive side-by-side comparison view

Document Byline

Before

After

Highlights

  • The byline dialog has been replaced by the Document Toolbox on the top of the page

  • Displays metadata about the document the page is part of e.g. Document title, Document version, and Document status

  • Compose your document, read, export, or copy. 

  • Navigate to the manager to access advanced document management options.

Version List

Before

After

Highlights

  • The list of versions for the document is now available in the document viewer instead of the byline dialog

Under the Hood


Before

After

How Are Versions Stored?

When you save a version, Scroll Documents creates a new archived space, containing a duplicate of all of the content within the version. This is where the version is stored. 

When you save a version, Scroll Documents will create a new copy of your document in the same space, i.e. a copy of all the pages, their content, and their structure.

All of the versions of the documents that you create within your space will be available under a special container page called Default Document Version Location, as shown in the screenshot below: