When you save a version of a document, you're saving a snapshot of that page tree of the document and it’s content at a certain point in time. You can version an entire page tree. For example, you can use versions to:
  • Share public documentation with users while working on additional changes in private

  • Track changes to documents throughout the document lifecycle or archive or freeze a certain state

Content from a dynamic macro, like an Include Page macro, isn’t frozen. Learn how to version a document that contains an Include Page macro.

Save a Version in the Document Manager

Navigate to the Document Manager

  • From the Document Library, click the actions menu ••• on a document and select Manage.

Or

  • From a page in a document, click Document toolbox and select Manage.

Navigate to new version

  1. Click Versions in the space sidebar.

  2. Click New version. The New version dialog displays.

New version

  1. Optionally add the following:

    1. The version a name of your choice or leave the default

    2. Select which existing version to base the new version off

    3. Add a prefix to your version.

    4. A short summary of the changes

    5. The status of the version

    6. Optionally, if you choose to set custom restrictions:

      1. Click Next.

      2. Set the desired restrictions.

  2. Click Save.

The new version appears in the version history table. Each saved version displays a date, time stamp, and the name of the user who saved the version.

You can use the Scroll Documents Version History macro to embed the version history table on any page in your document.

Read a Version

  1. Navigate to the Document Manager either from the Document Library or the Document Toolbox.

  2. Click Versions in the space sidebar.

  3. For the version you want to read, click Read in the Actions column.